Life in Questions

People don’t realize that these questions aren’t actually any of their business, and, for some reason, it has become socially acceptable to ask them. These are the questions you’ll hear according to what stage in life you’re at.

High school: What college are you going to?

College: What is your degree in? Oh, and what are you going to do with it?

Dating: When are y’all getting married?

Newlyweds: When are y’all having babies?

New Parents: When are y’all having another baby?

Perhaps there are more, but I am currently still at the newlywed stage, so I don’t really have much experience past that particular part of life. However, I am able to include the new parents question because I have several friends who are going through that experience at the moment.

I would assume that people begin asking you about your parental choices, and as your child gets into high school, everyone begins asking the parent as well as the child the aforementioned questions. I suppose it will be a while before I can test this theory, but that is perfectly fine by me. In the meantime, I’ll keep smiling through clenched teeth as I tell yet another ignorant person that, for now, my dog is my baby.

Leave a Reply

